EFSTH Structure


Edward Francis Small Teaching Hospital (EFSTH), formerly The Royal Victoria Teaching Hospital (RVTH) is a 547-bedded tertiary hospital built in 1853 by the British Government. This hospital has served as the principal hospital of the Gambia over the years, gaining legal status and accreditation as the only Teaching hospital in 2006. In 2013 the hospital was renamed Edward Francis Small Teaching Hospital.  EFSTH offers consultant /general services in the following clinical disciplines: including Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Paediatrics, Internal Medicine, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, General Surgery, Orthopaedics, Radiology (including CT Scan), Physiotherapy and Pharmacy services. EFSTH also operates the only Psychiatric hospital (Tanka-Tanka Psychiatric hospital) and Tuberculosis Sanatorium units in the country both located some distance from the main EFSTH premises in Banjul. The EFSTH Polyclinic, located some 200 meters away, provides essential primary care services as well as dental services for the whole country.

Our Mission:

To Transform EFSTH into a world class health care facility by hiring and retaining high calibre staff, establishing and observing standards of the highest quality of health care teaching and learning, maintaining an environment of tranquility cordial for both learning and recuperation


There is a governing body known as Hospital Management Board headed by a Chairman. The Chairman of the Hospital Management Board is Dr. Adama A. Sallah. Chief Medical Director (CMD is responsible for the day to day management of the hospital supported by the Hospital Management Committed and the Medical Advisory Committee. The present CMD is Dr. Ahmadou L. Samateh who is a Consultant Surgeon.

Chief Medical Director

Professor Ousman Nyan is The current  CMD of EFSTH. Professor Nyan was the Provost of UTG, Scchool of Medicine and Allies Sciences before his appointment as the Chief Medical Director of EFSTH


Deputy Chief Medical Director

Dr. Charles Roberts is the current DCMD, he is a surgeon by profession. He has been the head of Surgical Department until his appointment as Deputy Chief Medical Director.

Director of Administration & HR

Mr. Malang Ndong is the Director of Administration and HR. He was appointed in 2015 upto date. He is a clinician by profession.


The Chief Matron

Mrs. Horeja Saine is the Chief Matron . The Chief Matron is the head of the Nurrsing department of the hospital. She was appointed in 2018 as the Chief Matron.